Affiliates win UO Faculty Research Awards

Affiliates win UO Faculty Research Awards
Affiliates win UO Faculty Research Awards

Four CSWS affiliates are among the recipients of the 2022 Faculty Research Awards. Distributed annually by the Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation, Faculty Research Awards support scholarship, creative projects, and quantitative or qualitative research from all disciplinary backgrounds.

“I congratulate all the 2022 awardees, who include faculty from across this institution and in all career phases,” said Cass Moseley, interim vice president for research and Innovation. “In particular, I’m very pleased with the diversity and quality of projects selected.”

CSWS affiliates who received these awards include:

  • Maram Epstein, professor, Department of East Asian Languages and Literatures, “Women’s Novels as an Affective Archive in Late Imperial China.”
  • Lynn Fujiwara, associate professor, Department of Indigenous, Race and Ethnic Studies, “Queering Asian American Feminisms: The Sexual Politics of Representation in Resistance.”
  • Xiaobo Su, professor, Department of Geography, “Unhomely Life: Modernity, Mobilities and the Making of Home in China.”
  • Kate Thornhill, associate librarian, Digital Scholarship Services, “Digital Stewardship on the Oregon Coast: Curation and Preservation Capacities and Infrastructures at Small Cultural Heritage Organizations.”
This year's 10 award recipients represent the fields of anthropology, Asian American studies, Chinese literature, cinema studies, digital scholarship, education policy and leadership, human physiology, geography, interior architecture, journalism, and music. For a complete list of award recipients, see the story in Around the O.